Breaking News

Album Review- Stryper & ‘God Damn Evil’ – Takes it to the Cross!!

563508Who says metal can’t be wholesome? Certainly not Stryper! Whether you’re into the subject matter or not there’s no denying that these guys still have it. “God Damn Evil”, the bands’ 10th studio album, shows there is no slowing down for Stryper. This album seamlessly blends the harder sound they adopted with their 2013 release “No More Hell To Pay” with their classic 80’s sound.

Things start off with the first single for the album, “Take It To The Cross”. It is a fast and heavy track, complete with Death Growls provided by Matt Bachand of Shadows Fall and Act of Defiance. The title track, “God Damn Evil”, is one of many anthems on the album. You can’t help but find yourself singing along with the chorus. “The Valley” brings an excellent metal interpretation of Psalm 23:4. “Beautiful” is an uplifting track reminding you that you’re enough. “Can’t Live Without Your Love” is the ballad of the album, but doesn’t come across too sappy. The album concludes with “The Devil Doesn’t Live Here” a nod to 80’s metal and a final reminder of where their loyalty lies.

Even if you’re not into the content of Stryper’s music, the songs are good and still enjoyable. The combination of harder hitting tracks and dedications to the foundation of their faith makes this a great album and will please their longtime fans and newcomers equally. Be sure to check them out on tour this Spring and Summer.

STRYPER will be headlining the first day of the Frontiers Rock Festival 5 on April 28, 2018. For more info:
– CD: CATALOG # FR CD 858 / BARCODE: 8024391085820
– LP: CATALOG # FR LP 858 / BARCODE: 8024391085851
1. Take It To The Cross
2. Sorry
3. Lost
4. God Damn Evil
5. You Don’t Even Know Me
6. The Valley
7. Sea Of Thieves
8. Beautiful
9. Can’t Live Without Your Love
10. Own Up
11. The Devil Doesn’t Live Here


About Bryan Joe Corder (3070 Articles)
Concert Photographer at heart, Love listening to music and going to shows to try to capture the magic on the stage with my imagery.I also review albums and live concerts.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: