Breaking News

Finland’s Symphonic Metal group VINIDE releases their new science fiction story album Reveal to be released on January 26, 2018 on Inverse Records.

Review by Craig Newman

The band formed during 2003. They have released two album and three Ep’s.  The new album has been in the works since 2015 and will be released on January 26, 2018.  The band is Elmeri Kinnunen (guitars, vocals), Mikko Kähkönen (guitars), Heikki Polvinen (keyboards) and Jaakko Juntunen (drums).  Other bands from the country are Nightwish, Sonata Arctica including other bands from the region and Europe with the symphony music arrangements.

Recording, mixing and producing the whole album by Elmeri Kinnunen also has composed the pieces in collaboration with guitarist Mikko Kähkönen and keyboard player Heikki Polvinen with guest violinist and soprano singer by Minna Seilonen with program voice and woman by Kaija Kinnunun.  The final touch was given at Finnvox Studio by Mika Jussila mastering the album. Cover art is by Petri Lampela. The band has released two albums and 3 Eps and has taken a large step for their first concept album.

Vinide band

Reveal is a fifteen-song 63-minute album. As the band says it is a  science fiction story album about a large information technology company ”OMEGA’s” former employee who finds himself locked in a mental asylum and is even sentenced to death. After he escapes the asylum he starts to find out what is really going on and what is the biggest interest of OMEGA’s artificial intelligence project. The fears of the future seem to come true meanwhile the humankind is driving itself towards definite termination. The story goes on and a lot of plot twists are going to happen. How big is the urge to create something that humans don’t fully understand? What is going to happen to our hero during his journey finding out the origin of everything?

Ironic humans are now talking more and more to AI for communication and compassion from phones to computers in cars and in homes and businesses.

Close your eyes and the let visions in your brain take you on this journey. The first song and video released from the album “The Beginning” sets the tone with hard rhythm, heavy fast pulsing and slow tempos of a movie soundtrack with orchestra arraignments on the album. Elmeri Kinnunen vocals giving a balanced texture to the album with opera singer Minna Seilonen on various songs. Other songs that can release as singles are” Breakout”, Reveal”, “The Plan” and “Another Dimension”. The band should perform the entire when they headline shows.

This album can be a reference to another concept album like Queensryche Opertation Mindcrime and Savatage Streets. This band deserves that level of acclaim.

The Song list for the album:

  1. Intro
  2. The Beginning Scene
  3. Breakout
  4. Reveal
  5. Anger
  6. The Rat
  7. Plea
  8. Emanuel
  9. The Truth
  10. The Plan
  11. Believe
  12. The Bombs
  13. Another Dimension
  14. The Great Voyage
  15. Save The Earth



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: