Album Review- Woodhawk – “Beyond The Sun” Out Now!

WHAWK_1HRweb.jpgCalgary, AB’s WOODHAWK’s killer rifftastic fuzz stoner rock album ‘Beyond The Sun’ released on April 7th ..produced by Jesse Gander (Bison, Japandroids) and also features guest vocals on their track “Living In The Sand” by Kevin Keegan (Dead Quiet, ex-Mountain Dust, ex-Barn Burner).We got a chance to listen to the album and it really kicks ass!

This album comes out swinging right from the get-go, and swing for the fences from track to track. WOODHAWK are purveyors of riff-centric rock and roll and you get it from front to back, the band is able to craft anthemic fist-pumping songs while forgoing tired stoner rock clichés “Beyond the sun” is the start of the stoner rock journey and it just gets better and better with every note, “Magnetic North” is a nice pace change of the heavy riffs and hard pounding drums, its a nice mellow tune that get you in the mood for light one up. The band’s lyrics are born from snowy winters, hot practice space, and pages of dog-eared paperbacks.”Quest for Clarity” is a notable track that you just want to listen to over and over again because you hear something new every time you listen to it.

If you’re a fan of Black Sabbath, The Sword, Clutch, Truckfighters, Priestess, Mastodon,Red Fang, Thin Lizzy then you must check this one out!!

woodhawk_-_beyond_the_sun_album_coverTrack Listing:
1. Beyond The Sun (3:57)
2. The High Priest (4:46)
3. Living In The Sand (6:03)
4. Magnetic North (4:13)
5. Lawless (3:06)
6. Quest For Clarity (4:14)
7. A New Hope (4:49)
8. Forsee The Future (2:12)
9. Chrononaut (5:19)

Woodhawk is:
Turner Midzain – Vocals/Guitar
Mike Badmington – Bass/Vocals
Kevin Nelson – Drums


About Bryan Joe Corder (4248 Articles)
Concert Photographer at heart, Love listening to music and going to shows to try to capture the magic on the stage with my imagery.I also review albums and live concerts.
%d bloggers like this: