Downtempo’s Torchbearers prepare to release the heaviest record of the year

BLACK TONGUE will release their new full length ‘The Unconquerable Dark’ on September 4th via Century Media Records.

‘The Unconquerable Dark’ is a devastatingly bleak record that showcases the Hull Hate Crew’s trademark Downtempo sound to absolute full effect. From the opening Doom drenched riffs of “Plague Worship” to the Black Metal tinged “L’appel du Vide”, to the unfathomably heavy “Prince Of Ash” and “Vermintide” (featuring guest vocals from SUICIDE SILENCE’s EDDIE HERMIDA), the hatred spews out of the speakers.

The lyric video for “L’appel du Vide” can be seen here:

Produced by BLACK TONGUE & Jesse Kirkbride (Traitors, Demolisher), the album features artwork by Ken Sarafin (Oceano, Catalepsy).

The band had the following to say on announcing the record:

“Our original mindset for ‘Falsifier’ and ‘Born Hanged’ was to create the most ridiculously crushing music around. We created the heaviest music because there just wasn’t anything around at the time that was as heavy as we wanted to hear. We feel like we did a pretty good job. Now there’s a plethora of bands that are taking the reigns of the heavy and we love it, but a new direction is in order. With The Unconquerable Dark we wanted to keep the slow, low and crushing vibe but add some maturity to it. More riffs, more memorable choruses and some juicy lead thrown in. Don’t get us wrong, this is the heaviest thing we’ve ever released (and probably that you’ve ever heard), but we took the time to give it atmosphere and structure instead of being heavy for heavy’s sake.

We spent a lot of time on this album mixing and mastering it ourselves so that we could get the closest representation of the heaviness that is in our minds. We didn’t want to let someone else’s polished and clean mix detract from the dimension-shattering sound that we strive to achieve. This is album is in our opinion the best thing we have released so far.”

‘The Unconquerable Dark’ tracklisting is as follows:
Plague Worship – 5.06
In the Wake ov the Wolf – 3.55
Young Gloom – 5.33
L’appel du Vide – 3.42
Vermintide (ft Eddie Hermida) – 6.38
Prince of Ash – 5.18
The Masquerade – 5.33
A Pale Procession ii: Death March – 4.41
I’m so Tired of Sighing. Please Lord, Let It Be Night – 5.18
Running time: 47 mins

THE UNCONQUERABLE DARK is released September 4th Worldwide via Century Media Records.


Jon Pebsworth
Century Media / InsideOut Music / Superball Music
2323 W. El Segundo Blvd.
Hawthorne, CA 90250
Office: (323) 418-1400 x147
Direct: (323) 305-7447

About Bryan Joe Corder (4248 Articles)
Concert Photographer at heart, Love listening to music and going to shows to try to capture the magic on the stage with my imagery.I also review albums and live concerts.
%d bloggers like this: